Three new games added to Nintendo’s Virtual Console


With the news of the Monster World Sega Vintage Collection coming to XBLA and PSN, and the Alex Kidd & Co. collection coming to XBLA, many were questioning whether Nintendo would get in on the action or not. Well, Sega’s answer is a big yes, with two Monster World games, Wonder Boy in Monster Land and the previously Japanese exclusive Monster World IV, as well as the original arcade version of Super Hang-On, being released for the Virtual Console on May 10th.

While this set of games do not act as a ‘bundle’ in the way that the XBLA games do, and may not have the additional features that the XBLA collections will have this is still great news for Virtual Console customers and those concerned by Sega’s recent decisions to remove games from their service in particular regions. All three games will be priced at 900 Nintendo points.

[Source: Sega Blog]

About the author

Michael Westgarth

Michael Westgarth is a freelance writer and geneticist for hire who has been writing about video games since 2011. Michael enjoys saving the world and building creeper-proof, vertical sheep farms. Follow him on Twitter @MegaWestgarth, Tumblr and Google+.
  • grolt

    Cool to hear the Monster World games coming out, and so soon. It’s tempting…does anyone know when the games are set to hit XBLA/PSN? The wait will be killer…

  • I’m still waiting for an answer to that question I’m afraid. As far as I know, the XBLA and PSN versions are coming out this ‘spring’.

%d bloggers like this: