Want some release dates for those Vintage Collections?

Sega has officially announced the release dates and details for the upcoming Sega Vintage Collections and it looks like we’ll all be able to play some vintage Sega games with our favorite cheese very soon.

First off, PS3 owners will get the first stab at some of the games on May 22nd with these games being sold individually for $4.99:

  • Wonder Boy in Monster Land (Arcade)
  • Wonder Boy in Monster World (Mega Drive)
  • Monster World IV (Genesis/Mega Drive)
  • Super Hang-On (Arcade)
  • Revenge of Shinobi (Genesis/Mega Drive)
  • Alex Kidd in Miracle World (Master System)

Then on the 23rd, the Monster World Collection and the Alex Kidd & Co. Collection will be released on XBLA for 800 MSP. The following week on the 30th will see the release of the Streets of Rage Collection and the Golden Axe Collection for the same 800 MSP.

So anyone looking forward to these collections? Monster World definitely interests me and the Alex Kidd & Co. is tempting. I’m not sold on the other collections due to their existence on the Ultimate Genesis Collection.

[Source: Sega]

Readers Comments (4)

  1. Finally, took long enough don’t you think? I’ve been waiting for these release dates for ages. I suppose that’s the way it goes in the world of downloadable releases.

  2. Sweet, glad to finally know when these are coming out (which is, like, now). Here is the info from the XBOX Live site:

    Experience a blast from past with this collection of classic Sega titles! Save kingdoms, shatter time trials, and destroy evil in Alex Kidd in Miracle World, Super Hang-on, and The Revenge of Shinobi! Now available on Xbox LIVE, Alex Kidd & Company have been updated with all new achievements, challenging new trial modes, and other goodies like recordable and downloadable game sessions, 3D mode in Super Hang-on, in game juke boxes, and the original Japanese dialogue!

    Bring peace back to Monster World in these three classic action RPG titles: Wonder Boy in Monster Land, Wonder Boy in Monster World, and for the first time outside of Japan, Monster World IV! Now available for download on Xbox LIVE, the Monster World saga features all new achievements, challenging new trial modes, Xbox LIVE Leaderboards, and recordable and downloadable game sessions!

  3. I must have missed the first time that Wonder Boy in Monster Land is the arcade port – I just assumed it would be the Master System port. I adore the SMS game and have never played the arcade version, so I’m excited to finally be able to play it. Monster World IV in English for the first time too makes the Wonder Boy pack essential.

    I have all the games in the Alex Kidd pack in hard copies that I still play today, so the incentive is much less. They really messed up on that pack…I don’t know why they didn’t just pack together all the Master System games, or if they did like they did with Wonder Boy at least offer up the arcade version of The Lost Stars.

    Baby steps though, I guess…it’s nice to see these packs and I’ll definitely be supporting at least the Wonder Boy one tomorrow on XBLA.

    • Yeah, the Alex Kidd pack is a strange mix. I don’t completely understand how it was created as the Monster World, Streets of Rage, and Golden Axe collections all contain games in their own series. Hopefully we see more Alex Kidd down the line.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: